Gym evaluation and an alkaline raw porridge

20140422-141802.jpg

I have now finished my one month of testing how the gym makes me feel and as I said I will now evaluate it. Just as I really started to get into it and had created some sort of a routine, I have to leave which is a bit annoying but as they say; do something for 21 days and it becomes a habit. Exercise is now a habit ( so precious and I need to make sure I don’t loose it ) Next I am going to test Hot yoga!

So how was the gym experience;
Fairly good I must say, absolutely amazing to get to use my muscles for something other than doing zoom zoom zoom with my kids (which is pretty amazing too but only works the arms….and stomach….and legs) Also really enjoyed some good cardio to get the heart pumping. Now to the evaluations categories.

How much have my spirits lifted ( do I feel on top of the world? )
Quite regularly I do feel on top of the world whilst being at the gym. The happy happy techno/ disco music and the full-on positive self-talk, that I learnt after my MS diagnosis, makes me feel that way. 8/10

How happy do my muscles feel (stretched, no pain, stronger etc)
I feel stronger, muscles are aching in both a positive and negative way. I do get little aches and pains from the gym, especially if I don’t stretch properly which isn’t so good. 4/10

How calm and at peace do I feel
As calm as a testosterone-filled, Duracell bunny rabbit on jugs of Java! But I guess I do loose a bit of negative energy 3/10

How happy does it make me feel
I do feel happier. Healthier hence happier ; ) but not ridiculously happy hormone levels 5/10

How clean and refreshed do I feel
Sparkly clean! I love the sauna and shower straight after gym combo. I know I know since I have MS apparently I shouldn’t use the sauna but hey apparently I should take medicine to suppress my immune system rather than eating lots of healthy stuff to make my immune system as strong as possible, so…….I don’t always believe everything being said about how to deal with MS. Please note if you have MS, don’t take my word for it. Sauna works for me but might not for everyone. I do take it fairly easy in the sauna and make sure I regularly leave the sauna for ice-cold showers. 10/10

Fitness and cardio levels
Stronger and easily did a 4k run on Thursday so very happy with fitness and cardio. My body is slowly starting to be less of a Picasso painting and more like….well less like a Picasso painting at least! 8/10

20140422-105515.jpg

So for today’s recipe I want to add a raw food porridge that I have become totally hooked on. A friend recommended this breakfast that she had got from a fab Swedish website that talks about the alkaline diet, smartamaten.se. As you probably know I’m not a big fan of putting a name on how you are eating but if there’s one “diet” out there that makes sense to me this would definitely be it. This is pretty much how I believe one should eat to be healthy. A humongous amount of plant based food, and a low amount of meat, dairy and gluten. But with the alkaline diet there’s no no-no foods. As long as you eat alkaline food 80% of the time you can eat acid food 20% of the time. If you want to read more about it here’s an article in the Telegraph. For you Swedes out there, do check out smartamaten.se where you can read more, get a free ph-list and subscribe to getting more great recipes.

Raw food porridge

Serves 1

1 banana
1/2 an apple or pear
A handful of raspberries ( I use frozen )
A handful of almonds
A handful of pumpkin or sunflower seeds
1 tablespoon of crushed sesame seeds
2 Brazil nuts
A couple of teaspoons of cacao nibs ( I use Creative Nature )

Mix everything apart from the cacao nibs with a handheld blender. Sprinkle the cacao nibs over. Enjoy! This breakfast keeps me full until lunch!

I put all the nuts and seeds to last me for ten breakfasts or more in a large jar which makes the mornings much easier

20140422-140858.jpg

Leave a Reply

