Steak night!

steak saint emillionYes I eat red meat. Not that often, I prefer veg or fish by sometimes I just fancy a nice piece of fillet steak. Despite the current heat wave, tonight  is one of those nights! I know I’m a bit strange, I have been seen standing outside in the snow, -15 degrees tucking joyfully into an ice-cream and now during the craziest heat wave I feel like a steak. Oh well, follow what the body wants I say! So red meat…saturated fats…not good for anything apparently. Yes I believe that eating red meat twice a day or even once a day is not a good idea. But every now and again it’s fine. There’s a lot of iron in meat : ) but the traditional steak, fries and a creamy sauce is just a meal full of empty calories ( or calories full of baddies without any goodies ) so there has to be a better way of eating it

So here’s what we do,

Serves 2

Fillet steak ( if you don’t eat it that often you can splash out on what is in my humble opinion the nicest cut )
2 sweet potatoes
2 parsnips
1 carrot
3 tablespoons of olive oil
1 clove of garlic
A couple of pinches of dried basil
1 whole garlic bulb
100 grams of green beans
Wholegrain mustard

Put oven on 175 degrees. Peel and cut sweet potatoes, parsnips and carrot into wedges. Place in an oven proof tray. Mix olive oil, herbs and garlic and pour over vegetables. Mix well. Put vegetables in oven until they are cooked approximately 45 min.
In the meantime make the coleslaw, steam the beans ( I usually just put a colander on top of a pan with boiling water and put a lid on the colander for approximately 12 min) Grill or barbecue the steak to your liking

Coleslaw

A friend of mine asked if I knew a lighter not so oily coleslaw and I found this recepie. I do like the oily version but although it is good fat the standard mayonnaise heavy coleslaw is full of fat and calories so if one feels like using a much lighter version this was actually really tasty

6 tbsp plain yogurt

1 tsp Dijon mustard
2 tbsp mayonnaise
1⁄2 white cabbage
2 carrots

1⁄2 onion

So the surprise for me was how healthy mustard is. I think I have always associated mustard with hot dogs hence the naughty food connection. But mustard has been long known ( to other people) for their healing properties. Itis an excellent source of antioxidants. Mustard has anti-inflammatory benefits due to its high content of Magnesium and Selenium. It also contains omega3 and omega6-fatty acids, as well as potassium, calcium and phosphorus. So out with fatty creamy sauce and in with mustard!

Leave a Reply

