Peanut butter smoothie

20140116-143839.jpg
My husband James thinks I should own up to my ice-cream addiction. So here we go, I’m a complete and utter ice-cream addict, I confess.  I can not in my wildest imagination comprehend people who have ice-cream in their fridge for days let alone weeks. Oh I forgot it was there…Say what, can’t you hear it calling, eat me eat me eat me!

My daughter wakes up in the morning and with her cutest smile says glass (ice-cream in Swedish, I am Swedish by birth) and believe me I understand her. I could imagine waking up and open the bed side fridge and have an ice-cream first thing in the morning. What a great way to start the morning. But my daughter when she finally gets her ice-cream it’s not actually ice-cream, it’s a baby yoghurt that I put in the freezer. She’s happy and I don’t have to deal with the super tantrums of too much sugar. Similarly I have to find a way to trick myself. Ben and Jerry are my best friends and I don’t want to shut them out of my life completely but the amount I’m eating just isn’t on. There is absolutely nothing good for my health in ice-cream. Diabetes inducing sugar, lots and lots. Artery clogging saturated fats, lots and lots. And calories…..my daily half a tub of Ben & Jerrys is 560 calories!!

So anyways I tried this the other day and it was really yummy. I’m actually longing to make another one tonight. So much that I actually stopped thinking about my best friends. (Sorry Ben, sorry Jerry) The photo doesn’t do this smoothie justice. (Note to self, learn how to take better pictures!)

1 banana, frozen
1 tablespoon of peanut butter ( a good version without added sugar)
1 teaspoon of honey or agave syrup
100 ml milk of your choice
1 tablespoon of milled Flaxseed, Sunflower, Pumpkin and Sesame Seeds and Goji Berries or sth similar. I use the Linwoods brand

20140116-143854.jpg

Put the peeled banana in chunks in freezer a couple of hours before ( or always keep some bananas in freezer for emergencies : ) Add all ingredients to blender and blend. Pour over ice cubes or crushed ice. I usually leave my smoothie in the fridge for at least 15 min to get it that really nicely ice-cream-esque cold. Enjoy!

The tablespoon of milled flaxseed etc does two things to this smoothie. Firstly it adds some lovely crunchiness. It also makes it brimming with health benefits. Omega 3,6 and 9, protein, dietary fibre and plenty of vitamins. It’s also filled with energy. Banana contains both simple and complex carbohydrates so both endurance energy and quick release energy. Peanuts also is good for energy so if you want some extra oomph this is the snack to have ; )

5 thoughts on “Peanut butter smoothie

  1. Mimmi, det lät gott, ska testa. Men behöver hjälp med vad vissa ingredienser är, ex milled… Sunflower
    Ja i stort sätt allt utom jordnötssmör! Kram

    • Tania, Semi-skimmed milk är mellan mjölk men valfri mjölk kan ju så klart användas.
      Agavesirap har lägre GI än honung, kan inhandlas på hälsokosten. Flaxseed etc, jag köper en färdigblandad påse med malda linfrön, solrosfrön, pumpa kärnor och sesam frön. Googlade och kunde inte hitta nåt liknande i Sverige. Du kan ju köpa 2-3 sorter (av det du får tag på) och blanda själv. Kolla på nån hälsokost affär. Chia frön ska vara bra för smoothies och tydligen super duper nyttiga!

  2. Pingback: Stressed out and a liquorice smoothie | Sprouts & Stilton

  3. Hey Mim! Just saw this:
    Caffeine compared: from coke and coffee to aspirin and chocolate

    http://www.theguardian.com/news/2013/nov/27/caffeine-compared-coke-coffee-aspirin-chocolate-tea?CMP=fb_gu

    thought that drinks section of your lovely blog is the right place for it to land:)
    Thank you for coming last night, was so nice to see you. I am very exited for you and your nice-healthy-simple food passion. LIFE is FOOD 🙂 Love and kisses, miss you already

  4. Pingback: My 10 favourite recipes from last year | Sprouts & Stilton

Leave a Reply

