Fake sushi!

sushi

Second time I’m about to eat this…..maybe not fake sushi but a different, faster to make and slightly healthier sushi. And I’m excited, I truly am. I love sushi, not as much as ice-cream but almost.  There are some problems with sushi though and they are

a) it takes a looooong time to make it. I don’t know how many times I have invited people over for sushi and after hours of slaving over the rice I have to end up saying, enjoy the sushi but ehrm…sorry about the rice. It’s too sticky, too soggy, not enough sticky…. I’m sure the curriculum when you study to become a sushi chef is at least 75% learning how to do rice.

 b) it’s stuffed with white rice.  So what? I hear you say. And yes I agree in principal, I don’t think white rice is the most evil thing lurking in our cupboards. But combined with all other rubbish that we eat it can possibly cause diabetes, weight gain etc. Like someone said the reason why Asians can eat so much rice and still manage to be slim is because apart from rice they mainly just eat really good for you, natural stuff. (True for most Asian food, I went to a Vietnamese restaurant last Saturday and 90%-ish of what was on the menu was healthy stuff. And oh so yummy!!! )

Anyways so a combination of wanting to cut down on white rice and making sushi so easy that it is something that I can throw together in 20-30 min and hence eat on a weekday….every day….forever…made me try this

Sushi with cauliflower rice ( please don’t let the title scare you of, I know it sounds awful but even my husband, the food snob, kept saying yummy, delicious, please make this again )

If you haven’t made sushi before there are a couple of items you need to get

Sushi rolling mat
Nori sheets
Wasabi
Pickled ginger (to be served on the side)

And other ingredients (serves 2)

1 head of cauliflower
1/2 a ripe avocado
1/4 cucumber
1/2 carrot
2 tablespoons of sesame seeds
1 piece of sushi quality salmon or tuna
2 tablespoons of mayonnaise

How I make cauliflower rice for sushi;

Pull of the florets, try not to get too much of the stem. Put in a blender and blend for 15 seconds or until it is rice size pieces. Fry in pan until it seems cooked 1-2 minutes. No need to add oil. Mix 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise with 1/2 teaspoon of wasabi. Mix cooked cauliflower rice with mayonnaise/ wasabi mix. Let it cool. That’s it!!!!! Easy peasy! Then of course you have to make the sushi. Which I’m not going to explain since several other people have done it better than me. Here’s a good link.

Inside you can mix ingredients whichever way you like. Sesame seeds can be sprinkled on top of rice before you start adding other ingredients.

sushi 2

So what’s so healthy about sushi. Well apart from all the vegetables there’s the Wasabi which has a number of health benefits. It has possible cancer fighting properties. Wasabi contains a chemical called isothiocyanates. These are the same anti-cancer chemicals found in broccoli and cabbage. It has anti-inflammatory properties so possibly helpful for people suffering from arthritis. It also has anti-bacterial properties…Could explain why I never have got food poisoning from eating sushi. But be careful when you buy wasabi though because a lot of products contains only horseradish and mustard. (which are still good for you but it is not real wasabi) I’m buying a good brand and it only contains 10% wasabi so I am considering getting some wasabi from the Wasabi company.

Then there is the Nori sheets which is very rich in protein (up to 50 percent of the plant’s dry weight), and one sheet has as much fiber as a cup of raw spinach and more omega-3 fatty acids than a cup of avocado. Nori contains vitamins C (a potent antioxidant) and B12 (crucial for cognitive function) and the compound taurine, which helps control cholesterol.

Update; I served the sushi to my sister and her (also) food snob husband. And they were happily munching away on the sushi completely forgetting that it was made with anything else than rice!

One thought on “Fake sushi!

  1. Pingback: My 10 favourite recipes from last year | Sprouts & Stilton

Leave a Reply

