Stressed out and a liquorice smoothie

liquorice smoothie

A word of warning! If you are not stressed you are probably going to get bored by this long post and if you are stressed you’re probably going to be like; come on woman get to the point, I don’t have allll daaaayyy!!!! But hang in there, in the end there’s a really yummy smoothie recipe.

I recently started to feel quite stressed so stopped drinking coffee 2 weeks ago and thought that I would instantly reach some sort of a Zen like state ( silly me) but no….I’m still feeling stressed out, and I don’t like it. Not a bit.  I have had first hand experience of what the evil thing called stress can do to the body. One of many many many things that stress can damage are the adrenal glands and I’m thinking mine are probably not working as well as they should at the moment. (they have crashed before so I know what it feels like) So time to take some serious action.  Apparently adrenal dysfunction is really common these days. Symptoms can be;

excessive fatigue
non-refreshing sleep (you get sufficient hours of sleep, but wake exhausted)
overwhelmed by or unable to cope with stressors
feeling rundown or overwhelmed
difficulty concentrating, brain fog
craving salty and sweet foods
you feel most energetic in the evening
low stamina
poor digestion
low immune function
extreme sensitivity to cold

I have the exhausted in the mornings despite a good night sleep, brain fog  ( get lost in the middle of a sentence) second wind in the evening, sensitivity to cold etc etc.

Someone said a nervous breakdown is not the nerves breaking down, it’s actually the adrenal glands that are breaking down. I guess before when my adrenals really gave up that’s what it felt like, a nervous breakdown. This time around I am not that bad. I have recognised the warning signs in time, I hope!

Things to do in case you are feeling stressed on a daily basis and are experience some of the symptoms.

Cut out coffee, tea, sugars anything really that put stress on your body…alcohol and wheat…

Watch less action films/ thrillers  and more comedy ; ) (Sounds so weird but just think about how tense you are watching a thriller and how relaxed you get after a good laugh)

Positive thinking!!! Constantly having negative thoughts  in your head is exhausting!

Do exercise but don’t push yourself too hard! Doing very strenuous exercise is normally fine but if you have a problem with your adrenal glands it will just do more damage than good. ( Please note this doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t do exercise, it is extremely helpful for alleviating stress)

Try to stay caaallllmmmm!!!!! ( I find breathing in and clenching my fists really hard and then breathe out and relax them really helps during stressful moments)

Get enough sleep! 8 hours if possible

Also in order to be less stressed one has to a) if possible remove the cause of the stress or b) if that’s not possible learn how to deal with it ( in my case the kind of stress I can’t remove is one kid mixing the quinoa puffs with coffee whilst the other one has climbed into the dishwasher- type of stress)  I just have to learn how to deal with it and stay caaaallmmmm!!!

So apart from stopping sugar and coffee and other evil things from entering my body I also started exercise this week. Recliner Pilates  ( crazy Pilates where you use machines and use like 5000 muscles groups all the time) I did a beginners class on Sunday and it wasn’t as hard as I thought ( which was good since I shouldn’t overdo it)  Maybe it wasn’t that hard because I had a super energy giving peanut butter smoothie before the class with added chia seeds and coconut milk…But yes exercise helps, now I just need to do more of it!
liquorice smoothie 2
And finally here’s the great smoothie that I found which is perfect if you are feeling stressed. Liquorice root helps the body deal with stress. Apparently people who have problems with their adrenals can benefit from adding some unrefined sea salt to their diet ( not any old salt will do )  Some say you shouldn’t take liquorice in the evening others say its fine. And liquorice is one of those things that you shouldn’t overdo.  And don’t take it if you’re pregnant.

Recipe slightly adapted from ascensionkitchen.com, a great blog!

Liquorice, Fig, Vanilla and Coconut Smoothie

2 tablespoons cashews
2 tablespoons fine desiccated coconut
1 cup water

1 teaspoon licorice root powder

1 vanilla bean, chopped or 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla powder

3 dried figs ( remove the hard end bits)

Pinch of unrefined sea salt

A few ice cubes

Blend the first three ingredients well till really creamy. This will make a nice thick milk but will heat up in the blender, so pop it in the freezer for 30 minutes before you mix it all up.Meanwhile blend the rest of the ingredients apart from the ice.

When the cashew milk has chilled blend everything together, adding the ice. If you can’t find liquorice root I made a cup of liquorice tea and let it brew for a couple of hours then substituted the cup of water with 1 cup of tea.

One thought on “Stressed out and a liquorice smoothie

  1. Pingback: My 10 favourite recipes from last year | Sprouts & Stilton

Leave a Reply

