Dinner by myself and a mozzarella, quinoa, peach, chilli and pomegranate salad!

image

I was left on my own last night, husband went to the pub!!!! So had to cook for me, myself and I which I hate. My default food for when I have to eat on my own is usually gnocchi since I love it and husband hates it but gnocchi just feels too stodgy so decided to try something a bit healthier ( I will go on a search for a healthier gnocchi some other day ) Used whatever I could find in the fridge and this is what I came up with. Because of the quinoa it was really filling despite being a salad and all the goodie goodies gave it the comfort factor one needs on a cold day like yesterday ! ( It seems like summer is truly over : (

image

serves 1
2 handfuls of spinach
1/2 cup of quinoa ( I used a mixture of red and white)
2/3 of a mozzarella ball
1 peach
1/4 of an avocado
1/4 of a pomegranate ( to be prepared earlier )
A decent sized handful of mint
1/2 of a red chilli
1 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil

image

Start by preparing the pomegranate. Link on how to do it. I usually after step 3 put the pomegranate in a bowl of water for 15 min and then de-seed it. It makes it easier.
Wash the spinach and cook the quinoa according to instructions. Chop the chilli and mint and mix with the olive oil. Cut the peach in slices leaving the skin on and cut the avocado in 1 1/2 cm cubes. Tear the mozzarella into pieces. Mix everything together. Finish off the pomegranate and sprinkle over salad

Pomegranate – has been called a super food. Super foods are called super foods because they are super stuffed with healthy stuff. Isn’t that super duper!  No difference with pomegranates, high in vitamin c, high in anti-oxidants, good source of fibre (both soluble and insoluble) and a whole other range of other vitamins and minerals. But there has also been quite a few studies showing that pomegranate juice can possible be effective against various cancers ( mainly prostrate) Study through NHS

Quinoa – It’s a complete protein, contains all nine amino acid so great to eat if you are a vegetarian or doing sports. Rich in fibre, iron, B2. It’s also gluten-free

One thought on “Dinner by myself and a mozzarella, quinoa, peach, chilli and pomegranate salad!

  1. Pingback: My 10 favourite recipes from last year | Sprouts & Stilton

Leave a Reply

