A new perspective and healthy airport food!

image

Left my family for the weekend to go back to the old country ( Sweden ) On the way to the airport I found myself being a bit nervous, what have I forgotten, how does one do this traveling lark on their own. I was actually more nervous than when we flew to Australia with a 2 year old and a 7 month old. ( I guess then we were prepared that the 24 h trip was going to be challenging to say the least….) Which it was! Z1 ( that’s my daughter) threw up twice on the way to the airport. ( yes she does get car sick when playing on the iPhone, I just had to make sure, that’s why I gave the iPhone back to her after having cleaned up the first mess)

Anyway it’s weird that I was nervous about this trip, I just had to look after myself and all I was bringing was just some clothes, a book, some make-up…..and that’s sort of it. Not like when I’m travelling with the kids, half an Ikea store and half a John Lewis store. And I’m not bringing anything too important either. I’m not going to lay awake all night crying because I forgot the book. I just get another one. This is easy travelling we are talking about. I think I was just feeling uncomfortable because it’s out of my routine. I’m used to going everywhere with my mini Ikea and mini John Lewis and a lot of other stuff.

But being taken out of ones routine is great, you get a new perspective on things and get to see life from a new angle. Going on a holiday is one way of doing it but it doesn’t have to be that big of a deal. Leave the house 15 min early in the morning and sit in a park and eat your breakfast one day, take the kids to the other side of town for an outing despite the fact that it will be messy and perhaps tiring, go to a museum if you haven’t been in a long time and if you go to museums all the time try a completely different kind. You get my drift? You will do something new and that is refreshing and you end up reflecting on things in your life and new ideas take form. And you create memories! All those small and big out-of-your routine-events are the ones you remember.

 

image

So how about healthy eating whilst flying. Going to Sweden I didn’t have great success, I opted for a sandwich instead of a super dull-looking salad. On the way back I sort of felt like a decaf cappuccino and a muffin but walked past a great juice/ smoothie place and decided to have a juice. If I still had felt like having the muffin/ coffee combo afterwards I would have got it but I didn’t! The juice was so refreshing it got me set up for choosing a healthier option so ended up having an olives/ peppers and Parma ham salad instead. Healthy eating whilst travelling requires some planning but it’s doable. I will definitely have some red wine on the flight though. Not everyday I’m flying on my own ; )

My juice contained matcha green tea. Matcha green tea apparently contains 137 times more antioxidants than regular green tea due to the way it’s been harvested. It also contains an amino acid called L-theanine that can be useful in times of stress. It’s also good for alertness

Leave a Reply

