A nutritious meal out at Jones and Sons in Dalston

20131109-154809.jpg

Went out for a birthday meal last night to celebrate my sister at Jones and Sons in Dalston. Great place, great company and great food! What more can one ask for on a Friday night ; ) The restaurant is based in a former textile factory turned theatre turned restaurant on Arcola street and it’s pretty cool, love the little “house in the house” that is the kitchen.

The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. My husband asked about one of the steaks and after a long and detailed explanation by the waitress, he decided to go for something else..aarrgghh
Food is quite traditional English grub, a big part of the menu is meat based ( still with plenty of stuff for vegetarians) So impossible to have a healthy meal I hear you say, I say certainly not! I had one heck of a meal and certainly stayed on the very nutritional side.

20131109-155023.jpg
Instead of ordering the traditional bread and butter on arrival, I had 3 oysters. I normally go for olives instead of bread but here they sell oysters a piece and since I love oysters it was a definite yes for me! The oysters were as fresh as I had hoped for and with it I had a 1/2 guiness, which despite popular belief contains very little iron but goes oh so well with oysters. But the lack of iron content in Guinness doesn’t matter since I’m getting most of my daily iron dosage from the 3 oysters….along with about 300% of the daily recommended amount of zinc and more than 100% of my daily B12. And that’s even before my starter…

20131109-154825.jpg
For starter I had scallops and artichoke. It was, apart from very tasty, brimming with B12, omega-3 fatty acids, magnesium and potassium (scallops) and dietary fiber, folate, vitamin c and lots of anti-oxidants (artichoke)

20131109-154751.jpg

Duck breast with chanterelles and figs! Couldn’t resist it for my main. Later found out that duck breast is a good nutritious choice for protein. It contains generous amounts of iron, phosphorus, zinc, copper, selenium and some of the B vitamins. Chanterelles are an excellent sources of B3 and vitamin D. Mushrooms have also shown to lower risk of breast cancer. Figs are high in potassium that helps lower blood pressure. And besides all the health benefits this was an absolutely gorgeous dish cooked to perfection on the rare side. I had some scrumptious honey roasted carrots on the side.

For dessert I shared some puffed chocolate which was yummy but too big even for two. ( I do wish restaurants could do smaller desserts )

So conclusion is yes one can certainly go out and have an amazing meal that more than satisfy your tastebuds staying away from loads of refined carbohydrates and saturated fats and with a great intake of nutrients. Jones and sons is a great place for such a meal!

Leave a Reply

