Being bad and zucchini spaghetti with bacon and peas

20131113-205303.jpg
I have been a bit bad lately, I confess. Haven’t eaten as well as I should. Some people stop eating if they are stressed or down. I’m not one of those people, I seek comfort in food and at times when the body really could do with some serious good food I stuff it full of rubbish ( not quite that bad but hey…) So I am still waiting for test results to see what’s wrong with me, if anything, maybe I’m just exhausted but I’m just a bit worried. I don’t think so but maybe it’s the old MS showing it’s ugly face again. ( Yes I have Multiple Sclerosis but will talk more about that another day )

Anyway I will make a concerted effort of eating well from now on and I’m starting with this super duper easy recipe. In order to control myself I will list all the baddies that I have eaten on my next post ( boring for you but good for me : )

20131113-205357.jpg
Adapted from Sybil Kapoor’s book Taste

Serves 2

Zucchini pasta with peas and bacon

1 cup of peas, fresh if you have them but if not frozen works
2 zucchinis
3 tablespoon of olive oil
120 grams of organic bacon, diced
1 clove of garlic
1 bunch of spring onions
1 lemon
A handful of basil leaves

20131113-205511.jpg
Scrub and clean the zucchini. Remove ends and use a grater or a mandolin to slice the zucchini into spaghetti or tagliatelle shape. Don’t use the core and seeds. Chop the garlic and finely slice the spring onions. Grate the skin of the lemon and chop it in half.

Heat some oil in a large pan and fry the bacon until it’s beginning to be crisp.
Stir in the garlic and spring onions. Continue to cook for 1 min, then add the peas and lemon zest and little bit of lemon juice. Cook for 1 min then add the zucchini pasta and cook for another 2-3 minutes on medium heat. Make sure the zucchini is soft. Turn of heat, pour out excess liquid and add some more olive oil and the basil. Serve with lots of freshly ground black pepper and Parmesan.

When choosing bacon make sure you go for organic to get less nasty additives into yourselves. I used back bacon from Rhug Estate and it was very tasty indeed. Apart from the peas this is a perfect low carb meal but I like my peas! Search on the internet and there are many articles on peas as a super food. And rightly so it seems, lowers cholesterol, full of vitamins ( K and C in abundance). A Mexico City based study has shown that peas can lower the risk of stomach cancer.
Give peas a chance I say!!

One thought on “Being bad and zucchini spaghetti with bacon and peas

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Pasta with Chicken | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

