Evil sugar and “sugar free” bounty bars

20140119-213153.jpgI’m detoxing….uggghh! After 7 days I haven’t reached the I-feel-amazing-state yet. Currently I’m in the I-feel-rotten-please-give-me-some-sugaaaaaaaar state. But I’m not going to let the evil white stuff win. I know that if I just hang in there a couple of more days the sugar will realise that it’s defeated and I will then feel truly good and won’t crave it any longer.

You see sugar is a drug (of sorts) that creates a dependency. The food industry knows this and hence keep on putting lots of sugar or sugar substitutes in their products so we will keep on buying them. And this is the problem these days, even if one doesn’t eat that much obvious sugar (candy, cakes, sugar in coffee or tea etc) it’s everywhere ( bread, yoghurts, pasta sauces, cereals, you name it ) Unless you cook everything from scratch it’s very hard to not eat a fair amount everyday. A 200ml glass of orange juice and a 150ml pot of fruit yoghurt and you have almost reached the recommended daily intake of sugar (50gr for women in the UK) Add a 39gr of sugar can of coke and you have way surpassed the RDI…

Apparently your average 15 year old boy in the UK eats 40kg of sugar a year. And the rest of the world is no better. In my birth country Sweden it’s 43kg per person per year. That’s more than double of what’s recommended

A diet high in sugar is bad for your health, certainly not just for weight gain but for diabetes and apparently cancer and moods. Here’s an interesting story in the Telegraph about a woman giving up sugar in order to fight cancer.

So can I never eat sugar again? No, I believe that I can have a treat every now and again and this is exactly what sugar should be. A treat, not an every day occurrence. When I was a kid I used to get a small amount of money so I could go to the local shop and get a bag of candy and a Donald Duck magazine. But that was it for the week, no sodas, ice-cream or candy during the week. And that’s how I believe it should be but somewhere down the line we lost sight of this (or the food industry started cramming so much sugar into every conceivable product so even if you stuck to a candy only on Saturday approach you still potentially would be consuming lots of sugar everyday)

I’m not going to talk too much about about various sugars and sugar substitutes. It’s confusing. Personally if I want a special treat with some sugar in it my first choice would be raw honey or maple syrup for their nutritional benefits. (Very important that it’s raw honey since processed honey has lost most it’s nutritional benefits) Here’s an article in the guardian about different sugars. Bottom line is whatever you use for your sugar fix, use it sparingly!
20140119-201405.jpg
There’s an Australian website called I Quit sugar, they are dedicated to giving up sugar (no shit Sherlock) so check out their site for more info, recipes and if you are really addicted you can join an 8 week program to quit.

If you however have developed a candida overgrowth which I believe I had at one point you have to go on a much stricter diet than the one I quit sugar suggests. Check out mindbodygreen for more info.

Anyway here’s a yummy Saturday night treat recipe slightly adapted from I quit sugar

20140119-213140.jpg
Bounty bars

Coconut Filling:
2/3 coconut milk
3 tablespoons rice malt syrup
3 tablespoons coconut oil
2 cups desiccated coconut
Pinch of sea salt

Raw Chocolate Coating:
1 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup raw cacao powder
2 tablespoon rice malt syrup
Pinch of sea salt

To make the coconut filling, place the coconut milk, rice malt syrup and coconut oil and salt in a saucepan. Over a low heat, stir the ingredients together until combined. Mix through desiccated coconut.
Line a tray or container with baking paper. No need to use all of the tray, you can just roll up the baking paper on one side if it’s too big. I used a 13cm x 23cm tray. Press the coconut mixture into the pan so that it is about 1.5cm thick. Put in freezer for 20 min or so. It needs to be quite hard but not so hard that you can’t cut it.

Cut the coconut filling into bars, roughly 1cm x 4cm. Cool in the freezer until very cold (this will make the chocolate coating step easier).
For the chocolate: place all ingredients in a double boiler, stirring until smooth. Allow to cool slightly.

I found that the easiest way to coat the bars with the chocolate was to dip them all individually in the melted chocolate. Place on a tray lined with baking paper and refrigerate for 5-10 min. Then dip the chocolate bars for a second coat. Put in fridge for another 10 min before serving.
They can be frozen. The problem with these are that they are so yummy that it’s difficult not to eat all in one go…so if you like me struggle to apply self-control make half a batch and then share with as many people as possible!

Leave a Reply

