Mind over medicine and beetroot chips!

20140210-233435.jpg
I have a lot of things buzzing in my head that I want to write about! B12, mobile free time, exclusion diet (and it’s not a loose-weight-diet), toxins…….

But I will start with talking about a TED talk that I watched the other night with an American doctor called Lissa Rankin and it truly and utterly resonated with me. ( I cried watching it, that’s how good I thought it was)

I know I go on and on about healthy food and believe me I do believe it is crucial. But Dr Rankin says that healing the mind is more important than looking after our bodies. And despite being a health-food-crazy-kinda-girl I do agree with her. If we are unhappy, stressed or disconnected, all the organic broccoli in the world won’t cure us!

Dr Rankin says that our bodies will try to tell us if there is something in our lives that needs to be changed. In the beginning it will be “whispers” as she calls them, a constant stream of small health problems. If we then don’t listen, the whispers will turn into “screams”, more serious health problems. In my case the whispers were constant colds and flus, a sore swollen stomach and difficulties sleeping and winding down. But I was too busy to listen to the whispers so they turned into screams; anxiety and panic attacks. Still didn’t listen so then my body had to resort to some serious yelling to get me to listen; my MS diagnosis. And who knows, if I had listened to my body and left my job earlier perhaps I wouldn’t have MS today?

The good thing is, she thinks we can use our minds to let our bodies self-heal. And again I agree. When I told you about my MS story I was talking about how I used the placebo effect to heal my body and I strongly believe it had a huge amount to do with my healing.
But anyway, I’m not going to tell you more (drum rolls)……..I hereby proudly present Dr Lissa Rankin!

The shocking truth about your health; Lissa Rankin

Even if you’re a sceptic I really really recommend watching this 18 min video. It might not resonate with you right now but if you one day (we really hope not) find yourself having small, constant health issues, perhaps you will then remember this video. And you will stop to think, am I happy in my life or is it something that needs to change in order for my health problems to go away…..and the 18 minutes of watching the video seems like nothing. Kind of a cheap and good health insurance right?
If the video speaks to you you can download a free self-healing kit from her website or you can always buy the book ; )

20140210-233449.jpg
I said I was going to tell you all how I have been doing with exercise this week. Well, I did 1h45 min spread out over 4 days. Then I had my lumbar puncture ( I’m getting to the bottom of the do-I-do-I-not-have-MS conundrum) and my back was pretty bad for the weekend so no more. But anyway a great start, me thinks! ( I also bought a gym deal so for 5 weeks I have to go at least twice a week! Yeah, I’m soooo looking forward to it! )

And here’s finally the recipe for the beetroot chips that goes together with the last posts guacamole!

Beetroot chips!

Snack for 2

2 large beetroots
1 1/2 teaspoon of coconut oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
Black pepper to taste

Heat to oven to 150 °C.
Use a mandolin to slice the beetroot very thinly. About 1mm. I tried to cut the beetroot with a knife but it really takes a lot of effort and time so I would recommend getting a mandolin if you don’t have one. Put the beetroot slices in a bowl. Melt the coconut oil in a pan and add to the bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Toss the beetroot making sure all slices are covered with the oil.

Line a couple of large baking trays with greaseproof paper. Lay them on the paper so they are barely touching. Put in oven for 1 hour, one will go higher up than the other but swop the trays around halfway through so they will be equally cooked. The beetroot will crisp up after they have cooled down.

20140210-233502.jpg

Leave a Reply

