Busy bee and a turmeric, ginger and spirulina health insurance shot

20140605-145415.jpg

Sorry for having been so quiet lately. My life had suddenly got very busy…..in a good way. I’m feeling quite exited indeed. So some things that are happening;

I’m sorting out the blog, not changing it massively but it has lately felt too restricted which means I lost a bit of my spark so I’m making some small changes to make me exited again. I do think this is how we should always deal with things in life. If something has lost its spark we need to look at what we need to change to make it inspiring again…or move on. Don’t stay stuck in something spark-less!

I have also have started to seriously go for my dream of running a marathon, yes I have runners knees, yes I have a crappy, way too tight IT band and yes I have MS. Why should that stop me from running a marathon? I see absolutely no reason. So I have got new running shoes, new insoles and a personal trainer who is helping me to build strength in the right places. I’m also hopefully going to go and see my favourite physio. I’m icing my muscles and am using the foam roller to ease my ITband muscles. And if that doesn’t work then well I’ll try something else. Maybe I will become a barefoot runner…..

Adding to that I’m doing something that I have been wanting to do more of for a loong time…..dancing. Did jazzdance on Monday and Flamenco yesterday…..Flamenco was amazing, such passion and beauty. And the jazzdance was cool. I seriously kicked ass!! We’ll at least in my head which is all that matters ; )

20140605-145455.jpg

One part of sorting out my knees is to reduce inflammation in my body which is not only good for my knees but also for my Multiple Sclerosis and my health in general.
Chronic low-level inflammation has been linked to many western diseases such as cancer, diabetes and heart disease.

If you want to read more about why reducing inflammation is very very very important here are some articles to read;

Mindbodygreen
Sciencedirect
Mercola

To reduce inflammation in my body things that I want to include in my diet on a daily basis are Turmeric, Ginger and Spirulina. I try to add turmeric and ginger in my cooking as often as possible but I don’t use it every day so I decided to make a little shot of these ingredients and drink it daily. It’s my health insurance for much less than £1 per day! I use capsules of turmeric which has a higher percentage of curcumin (the beneficial component of turmeric) than the spice from your regular shop.

I was fairly sure that I had to write a post about how sometimes we have to ingest things not because we like them but for the incredible health benefits…… But to my surprise I found that there is a way that actually makes it taste…..not-quite-Saturday-treat-ish but really really ok..

Turmeric, ginger and Spirulina health shot

1 capsule of Turmeric ( I use Terra Nova )
1 teaspoon of Spirulina ( I use Creative Nature’s Spirulina Powder (Hawaiian)
Freshly grated ginger (2cm cube)
5 tablespoons of coconut milk
A pinch of freshly ground black pepper ( enhances the health benefits of turmeric )

Open up the capsule and add to the coconut milk, add the spirulina, the freshly grated ginger and some black pepper.
Stir and enjoy! Or neck it down if it still doesn’t suit your taste : )

Ginger is very good at relieving motion sickness and nausea in general, it’s a digestive aid, anti-inflammatory, it fights cancer and is good at dealing with colds and flu

Turmeric is a very potent anti-inflammatory, wards off dementia, fights cancer and inflammatory diseases such as multiple sclerosis.

Spirulina is high in protein, helps allergies, removes toxins from your blood, reinforces your immune system, is anti-inflammatory, helps you control high blood pressure and cholesterol, is a great source of various nutrients such as B12 and helps protect you from cancer.

3 thoughts on “Busy bee and a turmeric, ginger and spirulina health insurance shot

  1. if you’re interested in dietary changes to reduce inflammation, you should check out the book and website Overcoming MS. I’ve found it really helpful.

      • Yeah apologies, this was the first post I read and I then went on to look at the rest of your blog and saw you recommended this book. I really like your blog and am looking forward to trying some of the recipes.

Leave a Reply

